Just A Game?

Whack! Into the goal,

Celebration, cheering,

page26-1024x791.jpgBooing, jeering,

You’re screaming, moaning, groaning, shouting,

But why are you shouting?

You pass the blame,

Play the name game,

But they tell us it’s just a game,

Just a game we play?

Is it just a game when there are posters on my wall,

Is it just a game played by my idols?

Is it just a game with blood, sweat, and tears, uva_field_hockey

Is it just a game when we all cheer?

Is it just a game when it brings in the cash?

Is it just a game when it’s all I have?

My voice is horse from cheers,

My eyes wet with tears,

I’m sweating, tired,

Instead of discouraged, I’m inspired,

For to me this is no game,

This is my life.

Leave a Reply

