Cursive Letters

I placed my thumb on her

soft face

and felt those

butterflies

come fluttering back

like they do every time

I am reminded that she is my

wife.

I wipe away her tears

and look into her eyes

“I have to go”

I whisper

and she shakes her head

but remains silent

because she knows

words alone

can not convince me

because she knows

in my head

and the heads of the army

I have already gone.

But silence is the worst goodbye

because it leaves space for thoughts to come intruding in

ruining the moment.

Silence is the worst goodbye

because there are so many words

I want to say

scream

yell to her

but I cannot because her silence

speaks over me

drowning

me

out.

 

 

Leave a Reply

